“Red Light District” by Kicking Harold, a Music Review by Matty

May 30, 2015 by: admin

Written by: Matty

Kicking Harold, out of Los Angeles, California is:

Tim David Kelly, vocals/guitar
Bret Domrose, bass/vocals
Michael Odabashian, drums/vocals
Find Kicking Harold on Facebook here, their official website here, and on their Twitter here.
In January of 2015, Kicking Harold released their latest record entitled “Red Light District”.  Kicking Harold has been around since the mid-1990s, and some critics and music pundits would argue that they are receiving their proverbial second wind in their career with this particular offering.  Their song, “Gasoline”, was extremely well received and it is the theme song on the famous reality television show “Overhaulin’”.  Their somewhat provocative video for “Kill You” features an appearance from “Celebrity Rehab” celebrity and pornstar actress Mary Carey at the end of the music video.  Check out that music video here.  Kicking Harold “kicks” off the “Red Light District” record with “American Nitro”.
I definitely appreciate the guitar licks and no-frills rock that Kicking Harold provides in the opening track “American Nitro”.  It rocks, while being appealing to rock music enthusiasts.  Tim David Kelly offers a unique voice that sounds like one would mix Axl Rose’s voice with a 1990s alternative rock vocal styling vibe to it.  The song seems to be braggadocios about the American way, while appealing to those that love muscle cars, fast women, and the American nightlife.  ”Dance to the Radio” is also that fun, catchy rocking tune that basically talks about women and people in general dancing to the radio.  However, these are not the only themes that are covered in “Red Light District”.
“Life seems so much brighter when you’re not around” sings Tim David Kelly in such a commanding voice that demands your immediate attention.  ”Underneath It All” talks about moving on and getting rid of the dead weight in that failed relationship and how one can feel much stronger without having that someone constantly putting them down and kicking them while they’re down.  It has such a 1990s alt/grunge feel to it while it still feeling extremely relevant to it.  ”Drinkin’ To Forget You” covers a similar theme as it seems to talk about cutting loose for a night in order to forget about that person that did them wrong.
Bret Domrose brings the sleek and grooving bass line to “Hollywood Way”.  I love the catchy riffs to this track.  Michael Odabashian does a great job providing the rhythm and drum fills in this track while helping out with the three part harmony that is becoming a signature sound in Kicking Harold.  ”When we live to please another, our reflection disappears” sings Tim David Kelly in the second verse of “Hollywood Way”.  I feel the phoenix rising in this track and someone being released from the shackles and chains of an unforgiving existence.  It is such an empowering track and Tim David Kelly provides a killer guitar solo during the instrumental break in the song.  ”Hollywood Way” is the standout track to me in “Red Light District”.
Overall, this record has no fillers and it’s no-frills, straight up rock-n-roll that seems to be somewhat vacant in today’s rock music industry.  Kicking Harold does a masterful job of making an introspective record, while making it fun at the same time with their total catchy ways while leaving the listener no choice but to be lured in by the catchy ways that Kicking Harold provides.  ”Red Light District” also provides a killer cover of “Need You Tonight”, originally done by INXS.  Michael Hutchens would be appreciative of the cover.
Please pick up Kicking Harold’s “Red Light District” record at either their show or at your favorite online digital retailer.  Check out the track listing below.
“Red Light District” by Kicking Harold
1.  American Nitro
2.  Dance To The Radio
3.  Underneath It All
4.  Drinkin’ To Forget You
5.  Hollywood Way
6.  Sunflower
7.  Kill You (check out the music video here)
8.  Need You Tonight
9.  Sleep It Off
10.  Pink Flamingo
11.  It Still Hurts
12.  Let’s Fly Away
Filed under: CD Reviews


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.